What is the Michelin Guide?

The guide

The Michelin Guide is one of the most prestigious institutions in the world of gastronomy. For nearly a century, it has offered restaurant reviews and ratings that are highly regarded by chefs and gourmets alike. The Michelin stars are awarded anonymously and independently. This means that the critics are not announced in advance, nor during their visit. The evaluations are thus unaffected by possible biases and influences.

The ratings

The Michelin Guide is known for its star ratings, which range from one to three stars and reflect the quality of a restaurant. But there are other categories that the Michelin Guide uses to evaluate and categorize restaurants. The different categories of the Guide Michelin are explained in detail below:

  1. Michelin stars The Michelin stars are the most famous category of the Guide Michelin and are considered the highest award for restaurants. Restaurants that receive a Michelin star are rated as exceptionally good and offer outstanding culinary experiences. The evaluation criteria for awarding Michelin stars take into account not only the quality of the food, but also the quality of service and ambiance. The award of a Michelin star can lead to a restaurant quickly gaining notoriety and increasing the number of guests.
  2. Bib Gourmand The Bib Gourmand is a Guide Michelin award for restaurants that offer good food at a reasonable price. The criteria for awarding the Bib Gourmand are less stringent than those for Michelin stars, but the quality of the food must still be high. A Bib Gourmand is thus a seal of approval for restaurants that offer high quality at a reasonable price.
  3. Michelin Plate The Michelin Plate is an award for restaurants that offer good cuisine. However, they do not meet the criteria for a Bib Gourmand or a Michelin star . Restaurants awarded with a Michelin plate offer guests good cuisine and a pleasant ambience at an affordable price.
  4. Green Star The Green Star is a new category of the Guide Michelin and was introduced in 2020. It is awarded to restaurants that stand out for their sustainable cuisine and environmental friendliness. The Green Star is intended to help the hospitality industry focus more on sustainability and include environmental aspects in its evaluation.

Overall, the Michelin Guide offers a variety of categories to rate and categorize restaurants. The Michelin stars are the best known category and are considered by many to be the highest award. However, the other categories of the Michelin Guide can also help restaurants gain a higher profile and attract more guests.

The stars

The star rating is based on the quality of the cuisine, the creative performance and the overall experience in the restaurant.

There are three star categories:

A star restaurant means that the restaurant offers good cuisine

2-star restaurant means that the restaurant offers excellent cuisine,

3-star restaurant means that the restaurant offers exceptional cuisine.

Star chefs are chefs who work in one or more restaurants that have been awarded Michelin stars. They are known for their innovative dishes, creative combinations and the ability to perfectly combine flavors and textures. Some of the most famous star chefs are for example Alain Ducasse, Joël Robuchon, Gordon Ramsay and Heston Blumenthal.

The criticism

However, the Guide Michelin ratings have also drawn criticism. Some critics accuse the Michelin Guide of being too elitist. He prefers restaurants that offer expensive and fancy dishes. There is also criticism that the Michelin Guide does not adequately take into account the diversity of cuisines and restaurants.

Despite the criticism, the Michelin Guide remains one of the most respected institutions in the world of gastronomy. Star ratings remain an important measure of restaurant quality and a coveted distinction for chefs around the world.